New dementia learning resources

We are marking Dementia Awareness Week by publishing updated versions of our popular dementia learning resources.

Your learningThese resources will help you gain the right level of knowledge and skills in dementia care and support.

Informed about Dementia

This video resource has five chapters and provides the baseline knowledge and skills for everyone working in health and social services, even services for children.

Once you’ve watched the videos you can apply for an Informed about Dementia Open Badge which is a digital certificate to recognise learning and achievement.

Dementia Skilled – Improving Practice

This resource also has five chapters and will help you achieve the level of practice required by all workers who have a direct role supporting people with dementia, their families and carers. We’ve included reflective account questions which are an optional form of assessment. If you write reflective accounts of the right depth they may help you progress towards a work-based award, for example the SVQ Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF level 7.

Coming up

More guidance will be available soon to help everyone involved in dementia learning get the most from their experience of using Dementia Skilled – Improving Practice. The guidance will be available on the SSSC Learning Zone and will include helpful advice for learners, managers and assessors.


The Scottish Government asked us (the SSSC in partnership with NHS Education for Scotland (NES)) to create these resources so workers across health and social services are better supported in providing high quality care and support to people with dementia, their families and carers. Better experiences in Scotland’s health and social services means a much better quality of life for everyone affected by dementia, which is the main aim of Scotland’s National Dementia Strategies.

Promoting Excellence: a framework for all health and social service staff working with people with dementia, their families and carers (2011) defines four levels of knowledge and skills. These are: informed, skilled, enhanced and expertise.


No comments.

Leave a Reply